

2014 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT Vicki Roller, CRS, GRI

PRESIDENT ELECT Greg Larson, GRI

VICE PRESIDENT Cindy Harvey, ABR, CRS, ePro, SRES

> DIRECTOR AT LARGE Jeff Shipley, GRI

PAST PRESIDENT Scott Breidenbach, GRI

NATIONAL DIRECTORS Daryl Braham, CRB, GRI Dewey Uhlir, ABR, CRS, GRI

REGIONAL VICE PRESIDENT Henry Kammendel

LOCAL BOARD REPS <u>Badlands:</u> Lorrie Nantt, ABR, SFR Ninetta Wandler, ABR, CRS, GRI

<u>Bismarck-Mandan:</u> Bob Johnson, GRI Kristin Oban, GRI, SFR Kristi Bohl, GRI Mary Shelkey Miller, SFR, GRI, SRES, ABR

> <u>Fargo-Moorhead:</u> Jeff Shipley, GRI Bob Lee, ePRO, GRI, SFR Kevin Fisher, CRS, GRI Peggy Isakson, ABR, CRS Todd Anhorn DeAnne Mason, GRI Steve Lunde, CRS, GRI

<u>Grand Forks:</u> Weezie Potter, ABR, GRI Phil Vanyo David Blumkin, ABR, CRS, GRI

> <u>Jamestown:</u> Nancy Allen

<u>Minot:</u> Danette Krumwiede Joyce Kuntz

<u>Wahpeton-Breckenridge:</u> Steve Diederick, GRI, CRS

> <u>Williston:</u> Kassie Gorder

STAFF: Jill Beck, Chief Executive Officer Jill@ndrealtors.com

Heather Balkowitsch, Member Services/Communication Director <u>heather@ndrealtors.com</u>

Robyn O'Gorman, Admin Assistant robyn@ndrealtors.com

Nancy Willis, Gov't Affairs Director



North Dakota Association of REALTORS®

318 West Apollo Avenue – Bismarck, ND 58503-1404 Phone: 701-355-1010 or 800-279-2361 – Fax: 866-665-1011 www.ndrealtors.com info@ndrealtors.com

Minutes Political Affairs Committee January 22, 2014 -Ramada Inn – Bismarck

Present: Dave Lanpher, Chair; Tricia Schlosser, Chair-Elect; Greg Larson, Past Chair and Director-In-Charge. Daryl Braham; Scott Breidenbach; Diane Duchscher; Lyn Dwyer; Kevin Fisher; Theresa Hart; Bob Lee; Larry Louser; Denise Messmer; Vicki Roller; Jeff Shipley; Dewey Uhlir and Ron Volk.

Absent: Joshua Boschee; Tate Cymbaluk; Todd Fettig; Chad Johnson; Gary Kramlich; Steve Lunde; Sharon Lunski; Weezie Potter; Ben Hanson; Scott Louser; Tom Beadle; Joe Sheehan; Mary Splichal, Mike Swartz; Arlene Volk; Jerry Youngberg; Shelly Zach and Diana Zietz.

Guests: Roxie Auck; Renee Bailey; Janel Buchholtz; Cindy Harvey; Sue Heth; Judy Hoskin; Amy Hullet; Bob Johnson; Joyce Kuntz; Jamie McLean; Mary Shelkey-Miller; Lorrie Nantt; Kristin Oban; Beth Posey; Clyde Thorne; Ninetta Wandler and AE's: Nancy Deichert; Barb Lupo; Beth Mayer and Mike McEown.

Dave Lanpher, Chair, called the meeting to order, welcomed everyone and introductions were made.

The Minutes from the June 12, 2013 meeting were approved as distributed.

The guest speaker, Jeff Klein, National Flood Insurance Program State Coordinator, was introduced by Nancy Willis.

Klein discussed the 2012 Biggert Waters legislation and its implication for home owners. He told the committee that mapping has for the most part been completed throughout the state to date. FEMA will most likely come back to the western part of the state to revise mapping due to the oil impact. Klein concluded by encouraging committee members and all to continue to work with the Congressional delegation, since the proposed legislation to delay Biggert Waters really is the only option to address the current concerns and challenges.

Dave Lanpher continued with the committee's business. He said that the committee's purpose would be refined and the changes would be sent out to members prior to April for all to review and approve at the April meeting.

The Committee reviewed 2014 proposed goals from the Leadership Retreat. For the Political Affairs Committee those were: 1) Promote Political Affairs involvement in local government; 2) Change name of committee to Government Affairs Committee; 3) Work alongside the Transfer Tax Committee to ensure successful passage of Measure 2.

Members agreed to a name change to Government Affairs Committee to present to the Board. **M/S/C**

Tricia Schlosser, Chair-elect took over committee chair responsibilities. She asked committee members to review the Public Policy Statement of the Association for revisions and come prepared to update at the April meeting.

Schlosser called on Greg Larson for an update on the Transfer Tax. Larson jumped to the next agenda item, "Nov. 2014 Ballot and Proposed Ballot Measures". The Committee reviewed the four ballot measures set for the November 2014 ballot, including NDAR's Transfer Tax measure, #2. The Committee also reviewed the initiated petitions that are being circulated and discussed others that have been proposed. Larson shared that the Greater North Dakota Chamber (GNDC) has come out publicly against the Clean Water, Wildlife and Parks Trust petition drive.

Larson then gave an update on the Transfer Tax:

- NDAR's request to NAR for funding was approved for Phase I for \$442,950. NDAR will need to request additional funding during mid-year meetings in D.C. in May. Phase 1 includes organizational meetings; selection of an agency; setting up a contacts' database and identifying coalition members. (A copy of the Phase 1 budget was included in the committee packets, as well as a list of possible coalition members)
- Committee packets include Transfer Tax Committee members. We will be asking each local board to help mobilize the public. NDAR will set up standing conference call meetings for Transfer Tax Committee members. Others interested please contact staff.
- Presentations have been made to homebuilders in Williston and Fargo and to community groups in Minot.
- Willis will continue to monitor other tax issues that arise in interim legislative committees.

Willis said that NDAR expects that school organizations and municipalities would oppose because a transfer tax could be a source of revenue for them.

Willis directed committee members' attention to a summary to date of interim committee activities of interest and impact to REALTORS[®] and asked members to contact her if they had any questions about the material or if there were any other issues they felt NDAR should be monitoring.

Lanpher, resumed chair duties and the committee reviewed proposed legislative and administrative rule changes. The ND Real Estate Commission is proposing changes to the Out-Of-State Commission Split; to the maximum hours of CE accreditation credits per day – limiting to no more than 8 hrs/day; displaying of paper licenses and using unclaimed property language for abandoned deposits.

Casey Chapman asked that NDAR pursue legislation that would allow suits in Small Claims Court to retrieve earnest money to be heard in the county in which the property is located. Since usually the amount is less than \$15,000 it should be in small claims and not district court. A motion was made to move on Casey's recommendation and request that NDAR pursue legislation to allow earnest money cases in small claims court to be heard in the county in which the property is located. **M/S/C**

The Committee also reviewed a request from Steve Schwab, Dickinson, related to appointed agency. Due to the confusion on the issue it was agreed that staff should ask Schwab to attend the April meeting to clarify.

Beck shared that the Professional Development Committee has established a work group to review prelicensing hours and will be working with the ND Real Estate Commission. Final disposition will require a legislative change so will come to this committee at some point in time.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, Nancy R. Willis